Software Developer (Various Levels)

Reference number: RF-7190
Closing Date: December 11, 2022

About CSE and the Job

What is CSE?

In short, CSE is a technical intelligence organization that helps protect Canadians.

Communications Security Establishment (CSE) is Canada's national cryptologic agency. Unique within Canada's security and intelligence community, CSE’s team of secure system creators, code-makers, and codebreakers provide the Government of Canada with Cyber Security and foreign signals intelligence (SIGINT) services. CSE is the national hub for cyber operations to defend Canada and advance national interests, as well as providing technical and operational assistance to federal law enforcement and security agencies.

CSE is committed to diversity and inclusion, as well as offering training opportunities and skill development to all employees. (More information, please see below under “CSE Employment” or visit our CSE Diversity and Inclusion page.)

What’s the job?

CSE is looking for software developers of all experience levels to work in a collaborative, diverse and innovative operational environment. As a software developer, you will work on meaningful projects which will have a significant impact on Canada’s security posture (including Cyber Security and SIGINT) and ensuring the safety of Canadians.

What are we looking for?

We are looking for entry-level, intermediate, and experienced software developers who enjoy collaborating with others, and contributing to a supportive team environment, in order to find solutions to interesting and complex technical problems. You should be someone who wishes to work in a continuous learning culture, who looks to apply and expand your current knowledge, and who is excited to work with a team to build reliable and creative solutions to meet your clients’ unique needs and fulfill CSE’s mandate.

Salary

Salaries range from $91,585 to $124,208, depending on the level. (More information below under “Additional Details”.)

Location

All jobs are in Ottawa, Ontario. Flexible work arrangements, including telework for a portion of the work week, may be possible. For more information on location, please visit CSE's page on "Where we work". CSE locations meet current accessibility standards.

Area of Selection

Open to Canadian Citizens

Required Qualifications

You must clearly demonstrate in your application how you meet these required qualifications:

Language Requirements

English Essential

Required Education

An acceptable combination of education (i.e. professional certification, college diploma, university degree) in a field related to the position and relevant experience (see next).

Fields related to the position include, but are not limited to: Computer Science; Engineering (e.g. Computer, Software, Electrical); Mathematics.

The educational program must be recognized in Canada and you must be able to provide proof of education credentials. Students graduating within the next twelve (12) months are eligible to apply.

Required Experience

Programming experience in one (at a minimum) or more of the following: designing, developing, testing, deploying, maintaining, or improving software with at least one modern language such as but not limited to Java, C, C++, Python, or modern web languages and frameworks.

Recent graduates should note that school projects can be considered as relevant experience.

Required Competencies

(Competencies is our term for skills and/or knowledge. These required competencies are the skills/knowledge we need to see in your application, interviews, etc., for you to be successful.)

Technical competencies

  1. Application Development

Knowledge and ability to design, define, develop, construct, enhance, support, and maintain application software on one or more platforms.

  1. Knowledge of Information Technology

Possesses a generalist’s knowledge of all areas in IT, including but not limited to:Software application development, data storage systems, IT security, IT architecture, system administration, networking, and telecommunications

Behavioural competencies

  1. Cognitive Thinking Skills

Responding to challenges with innovative solutions, products, or services by questioning conventional means, using intuition, experimentation & fresh perspectives; understanding, analyzing, synthesizing, and relating complex information and abstract variables.

  1. Working in a Team

Demonstrating effective interpersonal skills & working cooperatively and effectively within & across organizational units to achieve common goals.

Leadership competencies

  1. Change and Innovation

Create a culture where flexibility & openness to new ideas are encouraged. Lead transformation with courage & conviction.

Asset Qualifications

(Assets are “nice-to-have” expertise and competencies we are interested in. It is good if you have them, but please don’t let it stop you from applying if you think you don’t.)

Asset Specialized Experience

If you have acquired any of the listed Asset Specialized Experience, whether in a professional or academic setting, please clearly demonstrate it in your application. We may take it into consideration to determine your best fit within CSE.

  • Experience in the field of Cyber Security
  • Experience working with Cloud Technologies
  • Experience working with Modern Software Development Architectures
  • Experience working in DevOps
  • Experience working with Databases

Asset Competencies

The following asset competencies may be considered later during the assessment phase.

Technical competencies

  1. Knowledge of the Software Development Process
  2. Cyber Security
  3. Data Storage Design
  4. Data Administration & Management
  5. Infrastructure / Platforms
  6. Knowledge of Object-Oriented Programming
  7. Knowledge of the Quality Assurance Process
  8. Knowledge of Software Reverse Engineering
  9. Project Management
  10. System Integration
  11. Telecommunications (Data & Voice) Networks
  12. Web Design and Development
  13. Geospatial Systems Technology

Behavioural competencies

  1. Accountability/Autonomy
  2. Interactive Communication
  3. Service

Leadership competencies

  1. Achieving Results
  2. Collaboration
  3. Integrity, Respect & Awareness
  4. Lead & Motivate
  5. Strategy and Vision

Asset Languages

In an effort to foster the full recognition and use of both English and French in Canadian society, supporting Part VII of the Official Languages Act, preference may be given to candidates who are currently bilingual in both official languages at a proficiency of BBB or above.  Please ensure to highlight in your application if you are bilingual in both official languages or if you possess valid Second Language Evaluation (SLE) results.  For additional information regarding what a proficiency level of BBB or above means, please click here.

Application Process

Who Can Apply

You must be a Canadian citizen and be willing to comply with CSE’s own security policies and standards.

Security Requirements

You must have no criminal record. The screening process may involve the following:

  • security interview
  • polygraph test
  • psychological assessment
  • background investigation covering a minimum of your last 10 years history, including credit and financial verifications.

How to Apply

You may submit your candidacy online by clicking “APPLY” at the bottom of this page.

If you cannot apply online or have a disability preventing you from applying online, please inform us by contacting careers-carrieres@cse-cst.gc.ca prior to the closing date of this selection process. CSE offers an assessment process that will accommodate any reasonable measures required to enable you to be assessed in a fair and equitable manner. Those measures are available to all candidates for further assessment. Related information received will be addressed confidentially. If you may need such accommodation, please advise us.

What to Expect

  1. The process will be conducted in the official language of your choice.
  2. A test will be administered if you successfully pass the application review. It will be used as a screening tool. Make sure to check your spam/junk mailbox regularly for notification of the test.
  3. Interview(s) will follow if you are successful on the test.
  4. References (2 supervisors) will be requested from candidates who successfully complete the interview stage. References should be current and previous supervisors; final project supervisors (Professor, TA) for recent graduates are acceptable references. Your references will only be contacted after you have successfully completed the interview(s).
  5. You will be required to complete the security assessment.  More information regarding this process can be found on CSE's website

The entire selection process – tests, interviews, references, security investigation – may take more than one year to complete.

If you are deemed to be unsuccessful in the assessment process for this particular selection process, you may reapply in twelve (12) months.

Additional Details

Salary Ranges by Level

  • UNMA-07 level: $91,585 - $106,204 per year
  • UNMA-08 level: $99,861 - $115,504 per year
  • UNMA-09 level: $107,432 - $124, 208 per year

Your position level is determined by the various assessments in the selection process.

Appointments

Determinate and indeterminate appointments will be used to staff positions of permanent or temporary tenures within CSE.  All appointments have a one (1) year probation period.

(A “determinate appointment” is employment for a specific period of time with a defined end date. An “indeterminate appointment” is permanent employment.)

Operational Requirements

Overtime and standby duty may be required.

CSE Employment

CSE is a separate organization and is not subject to the Public Service Employment Act (PSEA). We have our own values-based staffing regime and as such, have the flexibility to determine qualifications for positions and how these qualifications will be assessed in a selection process. In other words, CSE has its own classification, compensation system, and a different staffing regime. As such, we use a different staffing process and terminology.

CSE is committed to the principle of equity in employment. We are committed to building a workforce that reflects the diversity of Canadians and to creating an open and inclusive workplace. We encourage you to voluntarily indicate if you are part of one of the groups targeted by employment equity: women, Indigenous people, people with disabilities (including people with learning disabilities, development or any other type of disability) and members of visible minorities.

Training and Development

At CSE, we are proud to offer an inclusive and supportive working environment that encourages open minds and attitudes. As an organization that values and nurtures talent, we are committed to helping you fulfill your potential. With comprehensive training and development opportunities, tailored to your needs and the requirements of your work, we will enable you to flourish in your role and perform to the best of your abilities.

We thank you for your interest in CSE. However, only those selected for further consideration will be contacted.

Développeuse ou développeur de logiciels (niveaux divers)

Numéro de référence : RF-7190
Date limite : 26 février, 2023

À propos du CST et du poste

Qu’est-ce que le CST?

Le CST est un organisme de renseignement technique qui aide à protéger la population canadienne.

Le Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications (CST) est l’organisme national de cryptologie du Canada. Unique au sein de la communauté canadienne de la sécurité et du renseignement, le CST compte dans ses rangs des concepteurs de code et de systèmes sécurisés ainsi que des perceurs de code qui lui permettent d’offrir au gouvernement du Canada des services de cybersécurité et de renseignement électromagnétique étranger (SIGINT). Le CST est le pivot national des cyberopérations qui permettent de défendre le Canada et ses intérêts. Il fournit une assistance technique et opérationnelle aux organismes fédéraux chargés de l’application de la loi et de la sécurité.

Le CST s’engage à favoriser la diversité et l’inclusion, et à offrir des occasions de formation et de perfectionnement des compétences à tous ses employés. (Pour plus d’information sur cet engagement, veuillez consulter la section « Recrutement au CST » ci-dessous ou la page Web Diversité et inclusion.)

Quel est le poste?

Le CST recherche des développeuses ou developpeurs de logiciels de tous niveaux d'expérience pour travailler dans un environnement opérationnel qui est collaboratif, diversifié et innovant. À titre de développeuse ou développeur de logiciels, vous travaillerez sur des projets significatifs qui auront un impact important sur la posture de sécurité du Canada (y compris la cybersécurité et le SIGINT) et sur la sécurité des Canadiens.

Quels profils recherchons-nous?

Nous sommes à la recherche de développeurs de logiciels de niveau débutant, intermédiaire et avancé qui aiment collaborer avec leurs collègues et encourager l’entraide en milieu de travail afin de résoudre des problèmes techniques intéressants et complexes. Vous devez souhaiter travailler dans une culture d’apprentissage continu, appliquer et élargir vos connaissances, et être enthousiaste à l’idée de travailler au sein d’une équipe pour créer des solutions fiables et créatives qui répondent aux besoins uniques des clients et remplissent le mandat du CST.

Salaire

Les salaires annuels varient de 91 585 $ à 124 208 $, selon le niveau.

(Pour plus d’information, consultez la section « Détails supplémentaires ».)

Lieu d’emploi

Tous les postes sont situés à Ottawa, en Ontario. Des ententes de travail flexibles, y compris le télétravail pour une partie de la semaine de travail, peuvent être possibles. Pour plus d'informations sur le lieu de travail, veuillez consulter la page CST « Notre lieu de travail ». Les sites du CST répondent aux normes d'accessibilité actuelles.

Zone de sélection

Ouvert aux citoyens canadiens.

Qualifications essentielles

Vous devez démontrer clairement dans votre demande d’emploi comment vous répondez à chaque qualification essentielle suivante :

Exigences linguistiques

Anglais essentiel

Études essentielles

Une combinaison acceptable d’études (c.-à-d. certification professionnelle, diplôme collégial ou universitaire) dans un domaine lié aux fonctions du poste (voir ci-dessous).

Les domaines liés aux fonctions du poste comprennent, sans toutefois s’y limiter : L’informatique, l’ingénierie (p. ex. informatique, logiciel, électronique) et les mathématiques.

Le programme d’études doit être reconnu au Canada et vous devez être en mesure de fournir une preuve de vos diplômes. Les étudiants qui obtiendront leur diplôme dans les douze (12) prochains mois peuvent présenter leur candidature.

Expérience essentielle

Expérience de programmation dans un (au minimum) ou plusieurs domaines suivant: conception, développement, mise à l’essai, déploiement, maintien ou amélioration de logiciels dans au moins un langage moderne telle que, mais non limité à, Java, C, C++, Python ou des langages et des infrastructures Web modernes.

Compétences essentielles

(Nous entendons par « compétences » les connaissances et les habiletés d’une personne. Les « compétences essentielles » sont les connaissances et les habiletés que vous devez clairement démontrer, entre autres, dans votre demande et lors de vos entrevues afin que nous considérions votre candidature.)

Compétences techniques

  1. Développement d’applications

Connaître les applications logicielles et être en mesure de les concevoir, de les définir, de les construire, de les améliorer, et d’en assurer le soutien et la maintenance sur une ou plusieurs plateformes.

  1. Connaissance des technologies de l’information

Posséder des connaissances générales dans tous les domaines des TI, entre autres dans les domaines suivants : développement d’applications logicielles, système de stockage de données, sécurité des TI, architecture des TI, administration de systèmes, réseautage et télécommunications.

Compétences comportementales

  1. Compétences en matière de réflexion cognitive

Aborder les défis en ayant recours à des solutions, des produits ou des services innovants, en remettant en question les façons de faire conventionnelles, en écoutant son intuition, en expérimentant et en faisant appel à de nouveaux points de vue. Comprendre, analyser, résumer et transmettre des informations complexes et des variables abstraites.

  1. Travail d’équipe

Démontrer des compétences interpersonnelles efficacement en coopération à l’intérieur d’unités organisationnelles et entre différentes unités afin d’atteindre des objectifs communs.

Compétences en leadership

  1. Changement et innovation

Créer une culture où priment la souplesse et l’ouverture par rapport aux idées nouvelles. Diriger la transformation avec courage et conviction.

Qualifications constituant un atout

(Les atouts sont des qualifications non essentielles que nous recherchons. Le fait de ne pas les posséder ne devrait aucunement vous empêcher de poser votre candidature.)

Expérience spécialisée constituant un atout

Si vous avez acquis une ou plusieurs des ‘Expérience spécialisée constituant un atout’ énumérées ci-bas, que ce soit dans un cadre professionnel ou scolaire, veuillez le démontrer clairement dans votre candidature. Celles-ci pourraient servir à déterminer quelle équipe du CST correspond le mieux à votre profil.

  • Expérience dans le domaine de la cybersécurité
  • Expérience de travail avec les technologies en nuage
  • Expérience de travail avec les architectures de développement de logiciels modernes
  • Expérience de travail en développement et d’exploitation
  • Expérience de travail avec des bases de données

Compétences constituant un atout

Les compétences suivantes pourraient être prises en compte plus tard au cours de la phase d'évaluation.

Compétences techniques

  1. Connaissance du processus de développement de logiciels
  2. Cybersécurité
  3. Conception de solutions de stockage de données
  4. Administration et gestion de bases de données
  5. Infrastructure et plateformes
  6. Connaissance de la programmation orientée objet
  7. Connaissance du processus d’assurance de la qualité
  8. Connaissance de l’ingénierie inverse de logiciels
  9. Gestion de projets
  10. Intégration des systèmes
  11. Réseaux de télécommunications (données et voix)
  12. Conception et élaboration de pages Web
  13. Technologie des systèmes géospatiaux

Compétences comportementales

  1. Responsabilisation et autonomie
  2. Communication interactive
  3. Service

Compétences en leadership

  1. Atteinte des résultats
  2. Collaboration
  3. Intégrité, respect et sensibilisation
  4. Leadership et motivation
  5. Stratégie et vision

Langues constituant un atout

Dans un effort de promouvoir la pleine reconnaissance et l’usage du français et de l’anglais dans la société canadienne, en appui à la partie VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles, la préférence peut être accordée aux candidats qui sont actuellement bilingues dans les deux langues officielles avec une maîtrise de BBB ou supérieure.  Veuillez-vous assurer de mettre en évidence dans votre demande si vous êtes bilingue dans les deux langues officielles ou si vous possédez des résultats valides d'évaluation de langue seconde (ELS). Pour plus d'informations sur ce que signifie un niveau de compétence de BBB ou supérieur, veuillez cliquer ici.

Processus de candidature

Qui peut postuler

Vous devez posséder la citoyenneté canadienne et être prêt à respecter les politiques et les normes de sécurité du CST.

Exigences de la sécurité

Vous ne devez pas avoir de casier judiciaire. Le processus de sélection pourrait comprendre les étapes suivantes :

  • Entrevue de sécurité
  • Test polygraphique
  • Évaluation psychologique
  • Enquête sur les antécédents des dix dernières années (au moins), y compris des vérifications du dossier de crédit et du dossier financier.

Comment postuler

Vous pouvez présenter votre candidature en ligne en cliquant sur « POSTULER » au bas de la page.

Si vous ne pouvez pas poser votre candidature en ligne ou avez un handicap qui vous empêche de le faire, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous à careers-carrieres@cse-cst.gc.ca avant la date limite du processus de sélection. Le processus d’évaluation du CST comprend toute mesure d’adaptation raisonnable et nécessaire à une évaluation juste et équitable. Ces mesures sont offertes à toute personne ayant des besoins particuliers en vue de l’évaluation. Les renseignements que vous nous transmettez à ce sujet seront traités en toute confidentialité. Si vous pensez avoir besoin d’une mesure d’adaptation, veuillez-nous en informer. 

À quoi vous attendre

  1. Le processus se déroulera dans la langue officielle de votre choix.
  2. Si vous passez avec succès l'examen de la candidature, un test sera administré. Il sera utilisé comme outil de sélection. Vérifiez régulièrement votre boîte à lettres électronique pour être informé de la tenue du test.
  3. Une (des) entrevues suivront si vous réussissez le test.
  4. Des références (2 superviseurs) seront demandées aux candidats ayant passé avec succès l'étape de(s) l’entrevue(s). Les références doivent être des superviseurs actuels et antérieurs; les superviseurs de projet final (professeur, TA) pour les diplômés récents sont des références acceptables. Les références ne seront contactées qu'après avoir passé avec succès le ou les entrevues.
  5. Vous devez ensuite vous soumettre à l'évaluation de sécurité.  De plus amples renseignements concernant ce processus figurent sur le site Web du CST.

Le processus de sélection complet, comprenant les examens, les entrevues et les enquêtes de sécurité, peut prendre plus d’un an.

Si vous ne réussissez pas ce processus de sélection, vous pourrez présenter une nouvelle demande dans douze (12) mois.

Détails supplémentaires

Échelle salariale et indemnités

  • Niveau UNMA-07 : de 91 585 $ à 106 240 $ par année
  • Niveau UNMA-08 : de 99 861 $ à 115 504 $ par année
  • Niveau UNMA-09 : de 107 432 $ à 124 208 $ par année

Le niveau de votre poste est déterminé par les différentes évaluations du processus de sélection.

Nominations

Les nominations à durée déterminée et indéterminée seront utilisées pour doter des postes à durée indéterminée ou temporaire au sein du CST. Les nominations ont une période d'essai/probatoire d'un (1) an.

Une « nomination de durée déterminée » est un emploi pour une période déterminée avec une date de fin définie. Une « nomination de durée indéterminée » est un emploi permanent.

Exigences opérationnelles

Il pourrait être nécessaire de faire des heures supplémentaires et d’être en disponibilité.

Recrutement au CST

Le CST est un organisme indépendant qui n’est pas assujetti à la Loi sur l’emploi dans la fonction publique [LEFP]. L’organisme a son propre système de dotation fondé sur des valeurs, et peut ainsi déterminer les compétences requises pour chaque poste de même que la façon dont ces compétences seront évaluées dans le cadre d’un processus de sélection. En d'autres mots, le CST possède ses propres classification et système de rémunération, ainsi qu'un régime de dotation différent. À ce titre, nous utilisons un processus de dotation et une terminologie différente.

Le CST souscrit au principe de l’équité en matière d’emploi. Nous nous sommes engagés à nous doter d’un effectif qui reflète la diversité de la population canadienne et à instaurer un milieu de travail ouvert et inclusif. Nous vous encourageons à indiquer volontairement si vous faites partie de l’un des groupes visés par l’équité en matière d’emploi : les femmes, les personnes autochtones, les personnes handicapées [y compris les personnes ayant une difficulté de l’apprentissage, du développement ou tout autre type de handicap] et les membres des minorités visibles.

Formation et perfectionnement

Le CST est fier d’offrir un milieu de travail inclusif et stimulant qui encourage l’ouverture d’esprit et les attitudes ouvertes. En tant qu’organisme valorisant et cultivant le talent, nous sommes résolus à vous aider à réaliser votre potentiel. Grâce à plusieurs possibilités de formation et de perfectionnement adaptées à vos besoins et aux exigences de votre travail, nous vous permettrons de vous épanouir dans votre rôle et de performer à la hauteur de votre talent.

Le point sur la COVID-19

Le CST continue de suivre les directives des autorités de santé publique provinciales et fédérales (Agence de santé publique du Canada et Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada) et dans le cadre de ses efforts visant à assurer la sécurité de ses installations et de son personnel. Certaines activités ont repris en milieu de travail, mais bon nombre de nos employés continuent de travailler de la maison durant cette période sans précédent.

Nous vous remercions de l'intérêt que vous portez au CST. Toutefois, seules les personnes sélectionnées pour un examen plus approfondi seront contactées.